Home / useful informations / Institution


Ankara University Faculty of Educational Sciences

By the virtue of second item of Law No. 4936 on Universities, the senate of Ankara University established Faculty of Education on 31.03.1964 with the Decree No. 463/2718; this decree was then approved by the Minister of National Education (MoNE). The Senate commissioned the following academicians as the Founders of Faculty:

– Prof. Dr. Bedii Ziya Egemen,
– Prof. Dr. Bülent Nuri Esen,
– Prof. Dr. Yaşar Karayalçın,
– Prof. Dr. Mihri Mimioğlu,
– Prof. Dr. Hamide Topçuoğlu,
– Ord. Prof. Dr. Suut Kemal Yetkin.

Aforementioned academicians initiated founding studies by choosing Prof. Dr. Hamide Topçuoğlu as the first dean.

As the first Faculty of Education of the country, teaching started in 1965-1966 academic year with 109 undergraduate students who graduated in 1969 as the first graduates of Faculty.

Until 1980, Faculty alone has performed his mission “to raise specialists on educational sciences as needed in the country,” one of the basic establishment aims of it.

Enacted in 1982, the Law No. 2547 transformed Institutes of Education, a 2- or 3-year education institute to train teachers under the authority of MoNE, into Faculties of Education in university organization. Since our Faculty’s basic aim is to raise educational science specialists and aim of new Facullties of Education is to train teachers, the name of our Faculty was changed to “Faculty of Educational Sciences” to underline this fundamental difference.

With various scientific activities, our Faculty celebrates every third of March as “the Establishment Date of Faculty” on which the Law of Unification of Education was enacted. As of 2009-2010 academic year, our Faculty consists of 13 departments and 27 divisions.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

two × 1 =